Affiliates Receive University Awards

Several CDE affiliates have received prestigious university-supported awards and honors. Malia Jones (Applied Population Lab) was named a recipient of an Academic Staff Excellence Award from the University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents. These awards recognize exceptional service to the university and are the UW System’s highest recognition bestowed on members of its academic staff. Award recipients are selected for superior performance resulting in significant contributions to the department and institution.

Three affiliates received 2021–22 Vilas Associates Competition awards: Monica Grant (Sociology), Michael Light (Sociology), and Ananth Seshadri (Economics). With funding from the William F. Vilas Estate Trust, the awards recognize new and ongoing research of the highest quality and significance. Recipients are chosen competitively, and winners receive research salary support as well as a flexible research fund.

Two affiliates, Michal Engelman (Sociology; Director of the Wisconsin Longitudinal Study) and Kristen Malecki (Population Health Sciences; Director of the Survey of the Health of Wisconsin), received H. I. Romnes Faculty Fellowships. Funded by Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF), the award recognizes academic success and provides an opportunity for continued development of an outstanding research program.

Director Marcy Carlson (Sociology) received a Kellett Mid-Career Award, which recognizes and supports research conducted by faculty members who are seven to twenty years past their first promotion to tenure. Named for the late William R. Kellett, a former president of the WARF board of trustees and president of Kimberly-Clark Corporation, the award was created to provide support and encouragement to faculty at a critical stage of their careers.

Jonathan Patz (Population Health Sciences; Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies) was appointed to a WARF Named Professorship. The awards honor faculty who have made major contributions to the advancement of knowledge, primarily through their research endeavors, but also as a result of their teaching and service activities. Award recipients choose the names associated with their professorships and, with this WARF award, Patz becomes the Tony J. McMichael Professor of Planetary Health.

Congratulations, all!